Is It Rude To Speak Loudly In Public Spaces?

Pene Hodge
4 min readJul 8, 2021

Hell yeah, but people do it anyway

Photo by Chang Hsien on Unsplash

I work in the healthcare industry. In the Emergency Room to be exact. We regularly attend to patients who come for treatment and will spend the visit on their cellular phones.

It is not only their use of a cellular phone that's a problem, it is that they use it while on the speaker phone!

Some days ago, we had a patient, female, 29 years old. She checked in while on her phone, and somehow never got off. All with on with her phone on speaker on the loudest setting allowed.

So I triaged her and later the doctor came into the room. He introduced himself and began to ask the necessary questions. The patient remained oh her phone call and absent-mindedly answered a few questions. Answers that did not really corelate with the complaint she presented with.

The doctor stood there for some minutes, I waited as well. She carried on her conversation seemingly completely unaware that WE were waiting on her.

She came for help but here she was totally disregarding our time.

Eventually, I could take no more of it, and politely asked her to please get off her phone so that we can begin her care.

--

--

Pene Hodge

Writer. I write because I must. Arrive curious, leave inspired. I welcome collaboration, contact me@oursoulwords@gmail.com