Coconut Oil — Why You Should Use It!

It has a plethora of unique health benefits and a sweet nutty taste

Pene Hodge

--

Image shows coconut oil, powdered coconut and coconut meat still within the cracked shell.
Photo by Tijana Drndarski on Unsplash

Here Are The Facts

Coconut oil was a staple in my household back in my birth country Guyana. Indeed in most of South America, palm trees are as perennial as the air we breathe.

Every yard boasts coconut trees and almost everyone, uses coconut. Fresh coconut oil was the most used oil of that day. That is no longer the case. With modernization and widespread importation, coconut oil was placed on the back burner, so to speak.

The women or men would grate the coconuts, by hand and make a batch of fresh oil with which to fry fish and to cook. You have never had food as good as that cooked with freshly made coconut oil.

Yum-my!

We used coconut oil as a general skin and facial moisturizer, and let me tell you, not too many wrinkles were visible even though we spent most of our time in the sun, with no sunscreen and many were of advanced ages.

Aged persons were mentally and physically intact, strong, with BMI within normal limits. Heart attacks and strokes were rare. It was not until I journeyed to the “new world” that I heard and saw many of the diseases I am now so familiar with.

People died in ripe old age, in their right minds, and with all their working parts.

So when about 20 years ago we began hearing about coconut and its inherent risks for heart disease, I was quite startled. I was raised on this stuff.

Hearing that coconut oil was not good for you, increased your cholesterol and was contained the ‘bad’ fats. Believing the hype, it quickly became an unwelcome guest in my life and I shared this information with family and friends.

I quickly forgot about coconut oil except when I went back for a visit and I did not eat much of it.

So about 10 years ago the information sources began touting the benefits of coconut oil I was so surprised. Apparently, we had been fed, pun intended, misinformation that coconut oil was so bad for us and contributing to heart disease and obesity.

--

--

Pene Hodge

Writer. I write because I must. Arrive curious, leave inspired. I welcome collaboration, contact me@oursoulwords@gmail.com